It is intended that this conference will be held every two years. The conference is chaired by Lucas F.M. da Silva and co-chaired by Paulo Martins (University of Lisbon, Portugal), Mohamad El-Zein (John Deere, USA) and Uwe Reisgen (RWTH Aachen University). The German Scientific Society of Joining supports this conference. The focus will be on all advanced methods of joining such as friction stir welding, joining by plastic deformation, lasef welding, advaced mechanical joininng, adhesive bonding, hybrid joining, etc.